The Things We Need to Say by Rachel Burton. @bookish_yogi #BlogTour @NeverlandBT #Giveaway #Review

I’m thrilled to be taking part in the blog tour for The Things We Need to Say by Rachel Burton and sharing my review today. First of all let’s take a look at the description for the book…

Sometimes the things we never say are the most important.

Fran loves Will with all her heart. They had a whirlwind romance, a perfect marriage and a wonderful life. Until everything changed. Now Fran needs to find her way again and teaching a yoga retreat in Spain offers her just that. Leaving behind a broken marriage she has some very important decisions to make.
Will needs his wife, he needs her to open up to him if they’re to ever return to the way things once were. But he may have damaged any possibility he had of mending their relationship and now Fran is in Spain and Will is alone.
As both Fran and Will begin to let go of a life that could have been, fate may just find a way of bringing them back together.
From the best-selling author of The Many Colours of Us comes an emotional story perfect for fans of Katie Marsh, Amanda Prowse and Sheila O’Flanagan
 A true novel of the heart, Rachel’s The Things We Need to Say is at once beautifully written and achingly honest. This is a story that carries you away, taking you on an incredibly poignant journey, and which stays with you long after you finish. Read it! Jenny Ashcroft, author of Beneath a Burning Sky
Devastatingly beautiful, inspiring and extremely thought provoking; Rachel Burton has written from the heart as she unintentionally becomes the voice of everything we need to say.’ The Writing Garnet
Buy Links

After reading and absolutely loving The Many Colours of Us back in April 2017 I couldn’t wait to read Rachel Burton’s next book. So what did I think…

I can’t begin to describe how beautiful this book is, at it’s heart is a story of love, loss and hope but also has lots of themes coming together to create both a balanced and vivid story. I have to mention that there is an emotional plot but one that easily grabbed hold of me and just wouldn’t let go! The feelings and emotions of anyone going through the events in this story are captured perfectly both the hopes and fears. I haven’t been through even half of what Fran’s character goes through but I have experienced part of it and this shows the devastating effects that it can have on people. Rachel Burton handles everything with a sensitivity that made me feel so much with the characters it just felt ever so real, raw but heartfelt too. I know I’m being vague but I really don’t want to give too much away regarding the plot.

I also felt that The Things We Need to Say is about finding yourself when so many things have happened that you may have lost sight of the real you. Along with realising that lots of things are out of our control. I took quite a few things from this story and I’m sure it could be different for another person and their own reading experience. Life on the whole can be at times terrible but it’s often the little things that lift us and help us to carry on I guess we just need to be looking and paying attention.

 Even though Fran and Will are the main characters in this story there is also a great group of characters with various problems or difficulties in their lives all coming together. I thought that the mix of flashback and present day way of telling the story was perfect at showcasing both the characters and story. Rachel Burton has created this lovely mix of characters with different personalities who all contributed something to the story.

The Things We Need to Say is beautiful, emotional and has a pure sense of hope that I adored!

A big Five Stars from me!

With thanks to Rachel Burton and Jenny at Neverland Blog Tours for my copy.


Related Posts


Rachel Burton has been making up stories since she first learned to talk. After many false starts she finally made one up that was worth writing down. 

After graduating with a degree in Classics and another in English, she didn’t really know what to do when she grew up. She has worked as a waitress, a paralegal and a yoga teacher.


She has spent most of her life between Cambridge and London but now lives in Leeds with her boyfriend and three cats. The main loves of her life are The Beatles and very tall romantic heroes.


Her debut novel THE MANY COLORUS OF US was an Amazon Kindle bestseller. Her second, THE THINGS WE NEED TO SAY, is out in May 2018. She is currently working on her third book about a woman who followed the love of her life to a city in northern England. It has no autobiographical elements at all…..maybe. 


Find her on Twitter & Instagram as @bookish_yogi or search Facebook for Rachel Burton Author. She is always happy to talk books, writing, music, cats and how the weather in Yorkshire is rubbish. She is mostly dreaming of her next holiday…



Giveaway
Bound proof copy of The Things We Need to Say & a pack of Yogi teas
(International)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Why not follow along with the rest of the tour, see below…

https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s