Last Lullaby by Carol Wyer @carolewyer #BlogBlitz @bookouture #Review

I’m thrilled to be one of the bloggers taking part in the blog blitz for Last Lullaby by Carol Wyer and sharing my review today! First of all though let’s take a look at the description for the book… 

ABOUT THE BOOK

Charlotte’s baby is safe. But is she?

When the body of mother Charlotte Brannon is discovered by her husband Adam, in their bedroom, Detective Natalie Ward is first on the scene. The killer has left a chilling calling card: The word ‘Why?’ written on the wall in blood. 

As Natalie begins to delve deeper into the couple’s lives, she discovers that Adam has a dark past he’s been hiding and she’s sure that the Brannon’s teenage babysitter Inge has secrets of her own.

Then another mother is murdered on her doorstep in front of her young son, the word ‘why’ scrawled on the wall next to her. 

All the key suspects have alibis and with her own marriage hanging by a thread, Natalie is struggling to stay focused on cracking her toughest case yet.

When a young woman and her baby disappear, a member of Natalie’s own team is put in terrible danger. Can Natalie stop this twisted serial killer and save one of her own before more families are torn apart forever?

Gripping, fast-paced and nail-bitingly tense, this book will send shivers down your spine. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.

BUY LINK


Amazon: http://geni.us/B07HRW35Q5Social

AppleBooks:  http://ow.ly/t3tl30mSeVP

Kobo: http://ow.ly/RJ4530mSeYz

Googleplay: http://ow.ly/O3Ho30mSf0U

MY REVIEW

What can I say other than Carol Wyer creates some of the best characters, and Natalie is a perfect example! I love how Natalie isn’t quite perfect but she is such a strong and determined character that any flaws balance out her personality perfectly. We get to see her struggle to maintain her work and home life as plans have to be dropped at the last minute in favour of the investigation. With trouble at home and a very difficult and intense case the odds are against Natalie on both counts. 

The murder in Last Lullaby had me puzzled, making me question the motive along with the victim and her family. These are the best types of books, the ones that easily engage me and make me feel involved in what is taking place along with making me eager to discover the truth!

With a very tangled web you can feel the frustration that Natalie and her team are experiencing. Wondering when the break in the case will come, along with me trying to put the clues together in my own mind. Put it this way I will never make a great detective! 

I have to mention the little snippets from the killers perspective as they added a wonderfully creepy vibe. It’s always interesting to take a look into the mind of the killer and it really does help to create an extra dark layer to the story. There are quite a few twisty moments and plenty of suspects to keep you guessing. Carol Wyer has excelled again with this series and I can’t wait to see what will happen in the next case but also in Natalie’s personal life.

Last Lullaby is dark, tension filled and very twisty. I was held captive from the first page to last!

With thanks to Kim at Bookouture for my copy.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Carol E. Wyer, who also writes as Carol Wyer, is an award-winning author and stand up comedian who writes feel-good comedies and gripping thrillers.
Her book, Grumpy Old Menopause won The People’s Book Prize Award for non-fiction 2015.

The DI Robyn Carter series has earned her acclaim as a crime writer and the first book in the series, Little Girl Lost, shot to the #2 best-selling spot on Kindle #9 best-selling audiobook on Audible, and was also a USA Today top 150 best-seller.
Carol has been interviewed on numerous radio shows discussing ”Irritable Male Syndrome’ and ‘Ageing Disgracefully’ and on BBC Breakfast television. She has had articles published in national magazines ‘Woman’s Weekly’ featured in ‘Take A Break’, ‘Choice’, ‘Yours’ and ‘Woman’s Own’ magazines and the Huffington Post.

To learn more about Carol, go to www.carolwyer.co.uk or follow Carol on Twitter: @carolewyer. 


Carol also blogs at www.carolwyer.com

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Last Lullaby by Carol Wyer @carolewyer #BlogBlitz @bookouture #Review

  1. Rachel, I really can’t thank you enough! Not only is this an incredible review but I am truly happy you enjoyed the book so much. I feel ready to tackle the day now and of course… Book 4. (Book 3 is ready apart from some copy edits.)
    Huge thanks for being part of the book tour and for all your support xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s