The Forgotten Secret by Kathleen McGurl @KathMcGurl #BlogTour @rararesources #Review

Thank you for stopping by I’m delighted to be sharing my review for The Forgotten Secret by Kathleen McGurl as part of the blog tour today. With thanks to Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for the invite to join the tour and for my copy via Netgalley. First of all though let’s take a look at the description for the book…

ABOUT THE BOOK

A country at war

It’s the summer of 1919 and Ellen O’Brien has her whole life aheadof her. Young, in love and leaving home for her first job, the future seemsfull of shining possibility. But war is brewing and before long Ellen and everyonearound her are swept up by it. As Ireland is torn apart by the turmoil, Ellenfinds herself facing the ultimate test of love and loyalty.

And a long-buried secret

Ahundred years later and Clare Farrell has inherited a dilapidated old farmhousein County Meath. Seizing the chance to escape her unhappy marriage she strikesout on her own for the first time, hoping the old building might also provideclues to her family’s shadowy history. As she sets out to put the place – and herself – back to rights, she stumbles across a long-forgotten hiding place,with a clue to a secret that has lain buried for decades.

For fans of Kate Morton and Gill Paul comes an unforgettable novel about two women fighting for independence.

BUY LINK

UK  – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Forgotten-Secret-heartbreaking-gripping-historical-ebook/dp/B07H2PMPR3

US  – https://www.amazon.com/Forgotten-Secret-heartbreaking-gripping-historical-ebook/dp/B07H2PMPR3

MY REVIEW

I’ve probably said this numerous times but I do love dual timelines and in this story we are treated to two perspectives one from 1919 and the other being 2016. The reader follows the lives of Ellen and Claire and to be honest both points of view were equally interesting. Especially as past secrets surface and present an intriguing mystery for Claire. The transition from one time to another is smooth and made it very easy to become lost in the story. I really enjoyed getting to know both characters experiencing both their highs and lows. I loved the mystery aspect to the story but also the way that the two characters lives ended up entwined.

The mix of history in The Forgotten Secret is just right without giving too much information at once but highlights Ireland’s past in a way that made Ellen’s story especially engaging. You can tell that a lot of care and attention has gone into this story as the author lets the history speak for itself and has created a story filled with strength and love.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Kathleen McGurl lives near the sea in Bournemouth, UK,with her husband and elderly tabby cat. She has two sons who are now grown-upand have left home. She began her writing career creating short stories, andsold dozens to women’s magazines in the UK and Australia. Then she gotside-tracked onto family history research – which led eventually to writingnovels with genealogy themes. She has always been fascinated by the past, andthe ways in which the past can influence the present, and enjoys exploringthese links in her novels.

Social Media Links

Website:  https://kathleenmcgurl.com/

Twitter:@KathMcGurl  https://twitter.com/KathMcGurl

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KathleenMcGurl/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kathleenmcgurl/

If you get chance why not follow along with the tour, see below…

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “The Forgotten Secret by Kathleen McGurl @KathMcGurl #BlogTour @rararesources #Review

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s