True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop by Annie Darling #20BooksofSummer (2/20) #Review

This is another book from the 20 Books of Summer Challenge and it has been waiting very patiently on my Netgalley shelf for if I’m honest quite some time. So I’m delighted to be finally sharing my review! First things first though let’s take a look at the description for the book…

ABOUT THE BOOK

It’s a truth universally acknowledged that a single woman in possession of a good job, four bossy sisters and a needy cat must also have want of her one true love. Or is it?

Another delightful novel from the author of The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan

Verity Love – Jane Austen fangirl, manager of London’s first romance-only bookshop Happy Ever, and an introvert in a world of extroverts – is perfectly happy on her own (thank you very much), and quite happy hiding in the office and lying to her friends about her fictional boyfriend Peter, whose presence is very useful for getting her out of social events.

But when a case of mistaken identity forces her to introduce a perfect stranger as her boyfriend, Verity’s life suddenly becomes much more complicated.

Because ‘Peter’ is actually Johnny, and he too could use a fictional girlfriend. So against her better judgement and because she can’t stand sitting on the sad singles table, Verity and Johnny decide to partner up for a summer season of weddings, big number birthdays and garden parties, culminating in her sister’s Big Fat Wedding.

And by the end of the summer, there’s a bad case of heartache that even Verity’s beloved Pride And Prejudice might not be able to cure…

BUY LINK

MY REVIEW

I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to get around to reading True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop. I loved the Jane Austen theme running throughout along with the wonderful characters that this book features. Especially Verity she is such a loveable character, I couldn’t help but like her! With a fake relationship at its heart there is a little bit of humour along with plenty of charm, warmth and romance.

In True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop you see Verity step out of her comfort zone and throw herself into new experiences along with making a new friend in Johnny. Now Johnny is an interesting character I can’t say he was perfect because well as his motives were revealed they left a lot to be desired but there was also depth to his character that hints at so much more especially as you see his interactions with Verity.

It didn’t take me long to read this book it had a way of wrapping me up and carrying me along with Verity and Johnny as they attend an array of weddings, birthdays and other various celebrations. Now this book is part of a series however I do think it works perfectly well as a standalone so don’t let that put you off. Although after loving the first book I would recommend reading the wonderful The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts. It was so lovely to catch up with all the characters however this book is firmly about Verity. You also get the wonderful addition of Verity’s family especially her lively and entertaining sister Merry. This created a few fun moments that blended well with some of the more deeper moments.

Love, life and romance is all perfectly placed between the pages of True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop!

Advertisements

One thought on “True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop by Annie Darling #20BooksofSummer (2/20) #Review

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s