Death Remembered by K.E. Coburn @KeCoburn @rararesources #BlogTour #Review

Thanks for stopping by! I’m delighted to be one of the stops on the blog tour for Death Remembered by K.E. Coburn and today I am sharing my review. With thanks to Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for the invite to join the tour and to the author for my copy. First things first let’s take a look at the description for the book…

ABOUT THE BOOK

Summer 1952. 

The sun is shining, the birds are singing, but Charity Nicholls is bored of her quiet life in a tiny English village where nothing ever happens. Other than her nagging, marriage-obsessed mother, all she has to fill the time are her dreams of becoming a writer, and the Sleuthing Club – the mystery-reading book club she attends every week. 

But everything changes the day her father receives a poison pen letter. 

With the help of the Sleuthing Club, particularly handsome Henry Taylor, Charity is determined to find the culprit. But when people start dying and the police arrive, led by the infuriating Inspector James Lawrence, her little village becomes a hotbed of crime. 

Can Charity find the murderer before anyone else dies?

Perfect for fans of Helena Dixon and T E Kinsey.

BUY LINKS

UK –https://amzn.to/2LnXba7

US – https://www.amazon.com/Death-Remembered-Sleuthing-Club-Mystery-ebook/dp/B088FR2J99/

MY REVIEW

In Death Remembered we meet Charity who lives in a typical quiet English village in the fifties. The problem is that this quiet, gentle way of life is about to take a much darker turn! A poison pen letter to Charity’s father is just the start and what follows is a secret filled cosy mystery that was lots of fun.

I really enjoyed getting to know Charity. The reader is shown how she feels a little trapped by her life in the village and craves a little more excitement. However the phrase “be careful what you wish for” could definitely apply here. When the mystery over the poison pen letters needs solving. Charity is determined to be the one to do it. This definitely pulls her towards trouble as the letters are just the beginning of something darker. This leads her directly into the path of Inspector James Lawrence who is looking into the case. Let’s just say he isn’t happy with her involvement and has definite worries over her safety. I have to say that these interactions were a highlight for me. I loved the sparring between the pair and how easy it was for him to annoy Charity. There were smiles from me whenever these two were in the same room!

The parts of the story involving the village book club, the Sleuthing Club were also fun. I loved the different range of characters that made up this group and the friendships that have formed as they discuss their favourite mystery authors. The plot itself moves at a good pace with an increase in momentum as more secrets are revealed. There are a few suspects to choose from which helped to make things interesting and to keep me on my toes. Death Remembered is a wonderful cosy mystery that had some warm and loveable characters. As soon as I turned the last page I wanted more. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

K E Coburn lives by the seaside in Kent, England, and spends her time plotting murders and mayhem for her imaginary friends in the Sleuthing Club!

As well as having a master’s degree in history, she’s a huge fan of everything vintage, especially the 1950s, and loves researching this interesting period. Nothing makes her happier than looking at old photographs, drinking old-fashioned cocktails, and doing as little work as possible.

Her debut novel Death Remembered: A Sleuthing Club Mystery (Book 1) will be published in July 2020.

If you fancy keeping up to date with her murderous plots you can find her on:

Twitter at @KeCoburn or at her website: www.kecoburn.com and on Facebook at: https://bit.ly/2SYgQSo or at her website: www.kecoburn.com and on Facebook at: https://bit.ly/2SYgQSo

3 thoughts on “Death Remembered by K.E. Coburn @KeCoburn @rararesources #BlogTour #Review

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s