In a Deep Dark Wood by Tina Pritchard #InADeepDarkWood @inkubatorbooks @damppebbles #damppebblesblogtours

Thanks for stopping by! I’m delighted to be sharing my review for In a Deep Dark Wood by Tina Pritchard as part of the blog tour today. With thanks to Emma at damppebbles blog tours for the invite to join the tour and to the publisher for my copy. First things first let’s take a look at the description for the book…

What she saw in the wood would change her life forever.

Walking in the wood one day, Fran witnesses the horrifying murder of local teen, Tyler.  She tells the police exactly what she saw, but their investigation doesn’t seem to make much headway.

Fran tries to settle back into a normal life, but is tormented by guilt – was there something she could have done to save the boy?  Fran can’t let it go and finds herself drawn to Tyler’s grieving mother, Mel, both finding some strange connection through this shared trauma.

Then someone launches a terrifying campaign of intimidation against Fran and her husband, Laurie. Could it be the killers? Are they letting her know she had better be careful what she says? Who she sees? And why is Mel acting so strangely? Does she know more about her son’s death than she is saying?

Fran can’t help herself – she needs to know the truth. But when she begins to dig, she uncovers the terrible secret of the deep, dark wood – a secret that will change her life forever.

In a Deep Dark Wood – a stunning psychological thriller with a nerve-shredding climax. Perfect for fans of K. L. Slater, Sarah A. Denzil and Miranda Rijks.

MY REVIEW

In this story we meet Fran who witnesses a shocking murder in the woods. Fran is trying to process what happened but can’t quite make sense of it all. Due to the circumstances and the unanswered questions, she can’t let things go. As Fran tries to get more information she finds herself pulled into a dark and dangerous situation. Unfortunately for Fran it really is a case of being in the wrong place at the wrong time.

I guess you could describe Fran as being a down to earth character. Which I think helped to show how scary and unpredictable things can actually happen to anyone. The way Fran’s simple walk with her dog turned into something much darker. I found Fran to have a likeable personality and it was easy to be pulled into her life. Although I have to admit that there were a few occasions where I wanted to shout out to Fran not to get involved and to stay well away. I guess if Fran had made completely sensible decisions there wouldn’t have been much tension in this book. So I’m glad Fran followed her own path even if it was a dangerous one!

The twists within the story helped to keep things interesting. Some of them didn’t necessarily come as that much of a surprise. However I will admit that there was one in particular that did. In a Deep Dark Wood the danger increases for Fran with every new fact and secret that she digs up. Especially as someone is determined to put pressure on Fran to stop her discovering the truth. This all combined to keep things moving at a good pace. Fran’s curiosity is definitely a dangerous thing in this book but let’s just say I was just as curious to see how it would all end!

About Tina Pritchard:

After a life dedicated to bringing up a family, taking a social science degree, working as a lecturer, a trainer and more recently an independent celebrant, Tina addressed her burning need to write a novel. In a Deep Dark Wood reflects her belief that scratching below the surface of ordinary lives can reveal a rich seam of material. She wrote the book after her interest was piqued by police investigations in the UK Midlands into County Lines Drugs operations. After researching she discovered just how prevalent the problem is in rural communities.

Like many women of her age, the main character Fran has lost a sense of who she is beyond being a wife and mother. She is an unlikely protagonist. In need of a purpose after a terrible year that has left her reeling, she finds it, albeit in a way that ultimately endangers her life.

Tina loves to write and has won competitions for some of her short stories and poetry. She lives in a beautiful part of the world and gains much of her inspiration from walking her badly behaved terrier Horace, in the Derbyshire countryside.

Published by Inkubator Books on 28th February 2021

10 thoughts on “In a Deep Dark Wood by Tina Pritchard #InADeepDarkWood @inkubatorbooks @damppebbles #damppebblesblogtours

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s