The Shadow Man by Mark Brownless @markbrownless @zooloo2008 @Spellboundbooks #BlogTour #Review

Thanks for stopping by! I’m delighted to be sharing my review for The Shadow Man by Mark Brownless as part of the blog tour today. With thanks to Zoé at Zooloo’s Book Tours for the invite to join the tour and to Spellbound Books for my copy. First things first let’s take a look at the description for the book…

What if the memories of your childhood were a lie?

One Dream was all it took and all the memories of thirty years before started to flood back.

Not the idyllic coming of age summer down by the lake that they remembered. But dreams of death and of fear and of the burnings.

Dreams of the Shadow Man.

Will they finally face what had happened to them that summer?

Can they finally confront him once and for all?

The Shadow Man is the terrifying and utterly spine tingling new horror from the author of The Hand of Angel, perfect for fans of Alex North , CJ Tudor and Stephen Chbosky.

MY REVIEW

In The Shadow Man we meet a group of childhood friends who are brought together once again as adults. Their past is buried and seemingly forgotten. Will their memories return so they can confront what really happened that summer?

Well, this story took me on quite a journey! With a hint of both horror and supernatural moments this was definitely going to make things interesting. Not to mention the brilliant thread of nostalgia that was woven throughout. The pacing of The Shadow Man was pretty good and I enjoyed the way the author made the transition from past to present. In some books one timeline might end up more appealing than the other. However both timelines easily kept me invested. As each new reveal brought more intrigue and made me question even more what was really happening. Not only about what was taking place in the present but also what had happened in the past.

The characters all had pretty different personalities however the one thing they were united in was their determination to get to the bottom of things. One things for sure the more their memories began to surface the darker the story got. I’ve always been interested in myths and legends so I found this aspect of the plot really intriguing. The big question being who is the Shadow Man? The village itself also helped to bring an additional claustrophobic feel. Bringing with it an ominous, dark cloud that hangs over the characters. With their returning memories seemingly pretty hazy at first then slowly but surely becoming terribly clear!

The Shadow Man had some dark and tension filled moments that entertained from start to finish!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Mark Brownless lives and works in Carmarthen, West Wales, UK. He has been putting ideas on paper for some years now but only when the idea for THE HAND OF AN ANGEL came to him in the autumn of 2015 did he know he might be able to write a book. Mark likes to write about ordinary people being placed in extraordinary circumstances, is fascinated by unexplained phenomena, and enjoys merging thriller, science fiction and horror.

Mark’s new novel, The Shadow Man is a terrifying horror thriller imagining what would happen if you found out the memories of your childhood were untrue, and that something sinister was lurking behind the facade of your life. Could you face what had happened back then? Could you face The Shadow Man.

Mark is also fascinated by myths and legends such as those of Robin Hood and King Arthur. This has culminated in the release of his short story series, Locksley, a Robin Hood story.

Social Media Links


Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/markbrownlessauthor
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJgI_jjJAyOhCtuZTH7Vx8Q
Twitter: https://twitter.com/markbrownless

5 thoughts on “The Shadow Man by Mark Brownless @markbrownless @zooloo2008 @Spellboundbooks #BlogTour #Review

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s