Shiver by Allie Reynolds #Review

Thanks for stopping by! I’m delighted to be sharing my review for Shiver by Allie Reynolds today. With thanks to the publisher for my copy via Netgalley. First things first let’s take a look at the description for the book…

They don’t know what I did. And I intend to keep it that way.

How far would you go to win? Hyper-competitive people, mind games and a dangerous natural environment combine to make the must-read thriller of the year. Fans of Lucy Foley and Lisa Jewell will be gripped by spectacular debut novel Shiver.

When Milla is invited to a reunion in the French Alps resort that saw the peak of her snowboarding career, she drops everything to go. While she would rather forget the events of that winter, the invitation comes from Curtis, the one person she can’t seem to let go.

The five friends haven’t seen each other for ten years, since the disappearance of the beautiful and enigmatic Saskia. But when an icebreaker game turns menacing, they realise they don’t know who has really gathered them there and how far they will go to find the truth.  

In a deserted lodge high up a mountain, the secrets of the past are about to come to light.

MY REVIEW

As with any book that has a setting with snow and mountains you instantly get that isolated vibe. Or at least I do. I can’t say that I have ever been particularly interested in skiing. Now, the idea of sitting by a cosy fire in a log cabin. That is definitely more appealing. Well, I guess it was until I read this book! There is a definite tense atmosphere not only from the setting but the characters themselves. This group of characters can only be described as flawed, which to be fair I loved! Any reunion is bound to drag up strong feelings and this one in particular brings with it an undercurrent of danger. With questions over what happened the last time they were together being brought to the surface and in a very interesting way. I was certainly intrigued and couldn’t wait to see how it would all play out.

The book is told in the form of past and present with each part bringing new information and danger. This is a slow burn kind of story but it is well written and kept me invested in seeing how everything would turn out. Throughout the book there was quite a bit of talk about snowboarding. This didn’t necessarily have a negative impact on my enjoyment of the story. However I do think if I was more into the sport I would have appreciated these moments a lot more. However I did gain quite a bit of knowledge so there’s that at least!

Shiver brought forth an abundance of questions with suspense at its core. The deserted lodge also ramped up some pretty tense moments. Then add in my feelings about the characters motives and I was happily invested in this book!

2 thoughts on “Shiver by Allie Reynolds #Review

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s