The Only Exception by Claire Huston @ClaraVal @rararesources #BlogTour #Review #20booksofsummer22 (2/20)

Thanks for stopping by! I’m thrilled to be sharing my review for The Only Exception (Love in the Comptons 2) by Claire Huston as part of the blog tour today. With thanks to Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for the invite to join the tour and to the author for my copy. First things first let’s take a look at the description for the book…

Lucinda Green knows something is missing from her life. But what? Her catering business is enjoying modest success and she loves her cosy house, even if she does have to share it with her irritating ex-fiancé.

Whatever’s making her unsettled and edgy, Lucinda’s certain that a lack of romance isn’t the problem. How could it be when she doesn’t believe in true love?

But Lucinda’s beliefs are shaken by a series of electric encounters with Alex Fraser, a newly-notorious actor who gradually proves himself to be infuriatingly funny and smart, as well as handsome.

Not that any of that matters. Because Lucinda doesn’t believe in all that ‘The One’ nonsense. That’s the rule.

But doesn’t every rule have an exception?

This uplifting grumpy-meets-sunshine romance is perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Phillipa Ashley and Milly Johnson.

Purchase Link

getbook.at/TheOnlyException

MY REVIEW

First of all I have to say The Only Exception was a joy to read! I loved getting to know both Lucinda and Alex. This was definitely a slow burn romance but it worked so well. Both Lucinda and Alex might share an instant attraction but they didn’t necessarily make the best first impressions. With every interaction it was lovely to see their chemistry grow stronger even with a few misunderstandings along the way.

I do have to quickly mention that The Only Exception is the second book in the Love in the Comptons series but it easily works as a standalone. So no worries there at all. However if you do get the chance, I highly recommend reading Art and Soul too!

There is a wonderful heartwarming feel to The Only Exception and I couldn’t help but smile my way through. There were even a few giggles as the characters found themselves in some interesting situations. At the heart of this book is a sweet and heartfelt romance which easily captured my full attention. Let’s just say I might have a tiny crush on Alex, sigh. The Only Exception is a wonderfully rounded story filled with delicious food, heartwarming moments and a stunning romance!

Author Bio:

Claire Huston lives in Warwickshire with her husband and two children. She writes uplifting modern love stories about characters who are meant for each other but sometimes need a little help to realise it.

A keen amateur baker, she enjoys making cakes, biscuits and brownies almost as much as eating them. You can find recipes for over a hundred sweet treats at clairehuston.co.uk. This is also where she talks about and reviews books.

Social Media Links

https://linktr.ee/clairehuston_author

4 thoughts on “The Only Exception by Claire Huston @ClaraVal @rararesources #BlogTour #Review #20booksofsummer22 (2/20)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s