The Water Witch by Jessica Thorne @jessthornebooks @bookouture #20BooksofSummer22 (15/20) #BooksOnTour #Review

Thanks for stopping by! I’m delighted to be sharing my review for The Water Witch by Jessica Thorne as part of the Bookouture Books-On-Tour today. With thanks to Bookouture for the invite to join the tour and for my copy via Netgalley. This is also book fifteen of the 20 books of summer challenge that I am taking part in. First things first let’s take a look at the description for the book…

The Water Witch: A totally gripping fantasy romance novel filled with mystery by Jessica Thorne.

Sitting side by side on the clifftop, he turns to her solemnly and says, ‘The water witch is real.’ She rolls her eyes and grins, teasing him. ‘Sure. A psycho mermaid. Got it.’ But now he’s gone forever… will she find the truth beneath the waves?

Brittany, France. Ariadne Walker’s fiancé Simon drowned in the stormy Atlantic Ocean doing what he loved: searching for the lost underwater city of Ys. Local legend says it was destroyed centuries ago when the princess of Ys became a water witch, cursing the name of the man who betrayed her.

Ari never believed these tall tales. And the letter Simon sent before he died finishing their relationship is a devastating secret she’ll take to the grave. But arriving in Brittany, Ari encounters a man emerging from the sea in a rocky cove, saltwater dripping from his dark hair. Rafael swears the legends are true: and his ancestor was cursed by the water witch. Now, his own life is in terrible danger. And the secret to breaking the curse lies hidden in the lost city.

When Ari finds a strange engraved mask on the sea bed, and a cryptic map amongst Simon’s things, she has no choice but to believe Rafael’s plea. Can they follow the trail and save Rafael’s life? Poring over the map by candlelight, the flickering flames only add to the heat between them… but will Ari’s fragile heart soon be shattered all over again? And will they ever find Ys and break the curse – or will the water witch demand another sacrifice?

An absolutely addictive romantic fantasy read filled with passion and mystery, that will sweep you away to the wild coast of northern France. Inspired by real myths and legends from this magical place, The Water Witch is perfect for fans of Luanne G. Smith, River of Shadows and Jennifer L. Armentrout.

Buy Link

https://geni.us/B0B51V9MXCsocial

MY REVIEW

The Water Witch is a wonderful mix of mystery and legend with a dash of fantasy. Both the legend and hint of fantasy just made me even more involved in the story. I couldn’t wait to see if the lost city of Ys would be discovered. Then add a curse into the mix and you get a very intriguing premise.

The author carefully crafted a story that held a mystery that captured my attention. I was kept on my toes wondering how all the pieces were going to fall into place. The characters were also an important part of that puzzle. I couldn’t help but like Ari, she was determined but her past also made her vulnerable. I was rooting for her to find peace and happiness.

It is safe to say that The Water Witch was a very easy story to be pulled into especially seeing the connection between Rafael and Ari unfold. For me there was a winning combination of a lost city, legends and romance. All of which came together to create a magical and adventure filled story.

About the author

Jessica Thorne saw Star Wars at an impressionable age and life was never the same. She’s loved fantasy, romance and science fiction ever since and spends her time looking for adventure – in the pages of her books.

Sometimes she is Ruth Frances Long and won the European Science Fiction Society Spirit of Dedication Award for Best Author of Children’s Science Fiction and Fantasy, 2015.

Social Media Links

Website: http://www.rflong.com/jessicathorne/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JessThorneBooks/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jessthornebooks

Twitter: https://twitter.com/jessthornebooks

Email sign up: https://www.bookouture.com/jessica-thorne

Advertisement

2 thoughts on “The Water Witch by Jessica Thorne @jessthornebooks @bookouture #20BooksofSummer22 (15/20) #BooksOnTour #Review

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s