Little Bones by N V Peacock #Audiobook #Review

Thanks for stopping by! I’m delighted to be sharing my review for Little Bones by N V Peacock today. With thanks to the publisher for this audiobook via Netgalley. First things first let’s take a look at the description for the book…

Narrated by Stephanie Racine

I have three names: I was born Leigh-Ann. I became Cherrie. When I was a child, they called me Little Bones…

My father was Mr Bones – the notorious serial killer of 25 years ago.

As a child I witnessed his crimes.
Everything is different now. I have a new identity. I’m a mother. I am finally free.
Until that podcast. I should never have listened.

They’re linking a recent disappearance to the crimes of the past.

They know who I am. They’re calling me Little Bones again.

They say I’m a villain but I’m not. I’m a victim.

You believe me, don’t you?

MY REVIEW

In Little Bones we meet Cherrie who thinks her past is firmly locked away. However the events from Cherrie’s childhood are going to resurface and bring danger with it.

It took me a little longer than usual to finish listening to Little Bones but this was nothing to do with the story. I happened to be in the middle of listening when home schooling began again in January. So I could only listen for very short bursts and didn’t get very far at all. However I will admit that when I wasn’t listening I was still thinking about the characters. Along with wondering what was happening, who was behind it and if Cherrie would get to the bottom of things!

The pacing is pretty good, a few dips here and there but overall the story managed to keep my attention. The narrator did a brilliant job of showing the different aspects of Cherrie’s personality from ordinary mother to perhaps a darker edge that the reader is not quite sure of. The addition of the podcast to the plot brings another side showing the damage that revealing the truth can bring.

The characters all brought something to the story but most of all suspicion! I had a few theories along the way and kept changing my mind. I appreciated all the red herrings and false leads which helped make everything just that little bit more twisty. Some of the twists had an edge of predictability but on the whole I was very interested to see where it would all go. I will admit that Cherrie was a character that could come across like marmite. For me there were definitely times when I wanted to shout at Cherrie. To tell her to act differently but also there were times where I wanted to shout in agreement. Her character is definitely flawed but I found this to be the perfect way to draw me into the story even more.

I do think Little Bones worked very well as an audiobook. The podcast adds tension as Cherrie struggles to keep her cool with every new episode. Along with hearing all of Cherrie’s inner thoughts and feelings as she spirals deeper into a nightmare situation. The final part of the story especially came across so well through audio as it brought a dark touch that I loved.

Little Bones is a dark and intriguing tale!

10 thoughts on “Little Bones by N V Peacock #Audiobook #Review

Leave a comment