The Lies I Tell by Joel Hames @joel_hames @SpellBoundBks @zooloo2008 #BlogTour #Review

Thanks for stopping by! I’m thrilled to be sharing my review for The Lies I Tell by Joel Hames as part of the blog tour today. With thanks to Zoé at Zooloo’s Book Tours and SpellBound Books for the invite to join the tour and for my copy. First things first let’s take a look at the description for the book…

SHE’S WATCHING YOU,

BUT WHO’S WATCHING HER?


From the bestselling author of Dead North, a tense, claustrophobic psychological thriller perfect for fans of Lucy Foley, Claire McGowan and Clare Mackintosh.

Meet Polly.
Meet Emily.
Meet Belinda.

They’re all me.

My name is Lisa and I’m an identity thief. If I’m not inside your system stealing your money, I’ve probably already stolen it. I’m your friend. I’m a thief. I’m gone. I’m in control.

Only now, the tables have been turned. I’m in danger. My son is in danger. And I don’t know where that danger’s coming from.

Any friend.
Any enemy.
Any stranger.
Anyone from the past I’ve been trying to outrun for years.

NOBODY CAN BE TRUSTED.

BUY LINKS

Amazon UK :https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B08THZRDRW

Amazon US https://www.amazon.com/Lies-Tell-Know-Whos-Watching-ebook/dp/B08THZRDRW

MY REVIEW

In The Lies I Tell we meet Lisa, an identity thief who finds the tables turned on her. Someone is out there who knows all about her lies and the secrets she keeps. Can Lisa discover who is behind everything before it’s too late?

What follows is a story that to begin with quietly grabs hold. I have to admit that at first I needed a bit of time to get the multiple identities right in my head. Mainly over who was real and who was fake. However after I had that sorted it was pretty easy to be pulled in by the creeping tension as secrets and lies from the past come back to haunt Lisa. I do think in a way this slow and steady build up helped to paint a better picture of Lisa’s character. Let’s just say at first glance Lisa seems to be an irredeemable character. However as the story progressed there was a lot more to this flawed character than meets the eye. Especially as Lisa finds herself being drawn into an increasingly dangerous situation. Lisa still remains flawed however the reader begins to see that there is definitely more to her than is first revealed.

Within the story you get two timelines, the present storyline and another where the reader is shown chapters set in the past. I found these parts especially intriguing. They brought forth even more questions that may or may not be relevant to the present situation. Just like Lisa I couldn’t decide who to trust or to believe. I thought Joel Hames did a great job of keeping the suspense going as to who could be behind it all. This book also made me think about the connections we make on social media along with the information we may give out inadvertently. The Lies I Tell is an intriguing story with a very tangled web of secrets and lies at its heart!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

A Londoner in exile, Joel Hames lives in rural Lancashire with his wife and two daughters.

His works of fiction include the bestselling Sam Williams trilogy Dead North, No One Will Hear and The Cold Years, and the standalone psychological thriller The Lies I Tell.

When not writing or spending time with his family, Joel likes to eat, cook, play the piano, and make up excuses to avoid walking the dog. There’s the MMA thing, too, but he doesn’t like to show off.

You can find out more about Joel and sign up to his mailing list through social media or his very own website:

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/joelhamesauthor/

Twitter https://twitter.com/joel_hames


Website: http://www.joelhamesauthor.com

10 thoughts on “The Lies I Tell by Joel Hames @joel_hames @SpellBoundBks @zooloo2008 #BlogTour #Review

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s