Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty #20BooksofSummer (11/20) #Review

Thanks for stopping by! Today I’m sharing my review for Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty today. This is also book eleven of the 20 books of summer challenge. First things first let’s take a look at the description for the book…

Nine perfect strangers, each hiding an imperfect life.

A luxury retreat cut off from the outside world.

Ten days that promise to change your life.

But some promises – like some lives – are perfect lies . . .

MY REVIEW

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect when I first picked up Nine Perfect Strangers. I guess I had an idea in my head of where I thought it would go. However I ended up being pleasantly surprised with the direction it did take. I wouldn’t describe Nine Perfect Strangers as a thriller but equally there were some tense moments that created some highly charged scenes.

For me my favourite part of reading this book was getting to know the broad range of characters. They all brought something to the story but I have to single Frances out because she definitely stole the show. Frances wasn’t in a great place with disappointments seemingly at every turn but she still had a strong and determined attitude. Nine Perfect Strangers is told from the characters different perspectives which might not in theory work but in this book it totally did! I thought this way of telling the story ended up giving the reader a real feel for the characters. Especially the way we experience their inner thoughts and feelings. I guess this made it easier to connect with them.

The pacing is steady throughout and managed to keep my interest especially as the whole situation gets more intense. There were some highs and lows as the characters began to deal with their pasts. However there were also some moments where I couldn’t help but smile which definitely helped to balance things out. In a way it felt like I had gained some friends. I couldn’t help finishing the book with a smile and the added feeling of receiving a kind of strange but comforting hug. Which was definitely unexpected. Although it’s safe to say that I’m in no way eager to visit a retreat anytime soon! 😂

5 thoughts on “Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty #20BooksofSummer (11/20) #Review

Leave a comment